This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.

Privacy and Display Settings in DNA Relatives

The DNA Relatives tool is a popular, interactive 23andMe feature that allows you to find and connect with genetic relatives who are also 23andMe users participating in this feature, and to learn more about your family story. This tool is optional; other 23andMe users will not be able to see you as a genetic match unless you opt in to the feature. Likewise, you will not be able to view your genetic matches in DNA Relatives unless you consent to participate.

The DNA Relatives tool has multiple privacy options to suit your individual preferences. For complete privacy, you can opt out of DNA Relatives entirely. For the most visibility, you can choose to participate in Open Sharing.

You can update any of these settings at any time from the “Update DNA Relatives profile” link in DNA Relatives and in your Account Settings under the the Privacy/Sharing section.

 

Participation in DNA Relatives

If you choose to opt in and participate in DNA Relatives, all of your matches will be able to view the following information about you:

  • Your display name
  • Your profile sex (Male/Female)
  • Your profile picture
  • The percent DNA and number of segments you share, but not the location of those segments
  • Relatives in Common
  • Your haplogroup(s)

DNAR_match.png

Additionally, any family information you enter into your DNA Relatives profile, such as surnames or family locations, will be shown when a match clicks on your entry.

Your display name

Your display name is how your profile name will appear to genetic relatives and other participants. You can choose to participate using your name, your initials, or a combination of the two.

Display_name.png

Open Sharing

Open Sharing makes select information available to your matches in DNA Relatives without an individual request to share reports. This information includes:

  • Your full profile name
  • Your Ancestry Composition Report results
  • The location of your overlapping/identical/shared DNA segments

Opting out of DNA Relatives

If you would like to stop participating in DNA Relatives, you may opt out of the feature by selecting the update profile option within DNA Relatives or from your Account Settings page. If you opt out, you will not appear in other people's DNA Relatives results, and your profile will not be able to access DNA Relatives to view or contact relatives. However, you may change your mind and opt in at any time.

 

Additional Resources

 

Follow
Was this article helpful?
5 out of 8 found this helpful

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Submit a request

Ask a question through Facebook or Twitter

Or call 1-800-239-5230
Monday through Friday, 6:00am to 8:00pm PST/PDT.
Saturday and Sunday, 8:00am to 4:00pm PST/PDT.