Privacy settings allow you to review how you have made different information about your account accessible to others. To access your account settings, open the account menu by clicking on your profile name and selecting Settings.
You can modify any of the information in this section by clicking the Edit link.
Share and Compare
By clicking View and manage connections you can view your pending invitations, as well as the 23andMe users with whom you have established a sharing connection. You can click on any connection's name and end the sharing connection by scrolling down in the right side panel and clicking Remove Connection.
If you choose not to participate in DNA Relatives, your profile will not be able to access DNA Relatives to view or contact relatives. Additionally, you will not show up in other people's DNA Relatives results. It is important to note that each user participating in DNA Relatives has the option to download a file containing their list of DNA Relatives, including display names, profile sexes, and predicted relationships, as well as any additional information the match has chosen to share through the "enhance your profile" step.
Through the 23andMe API, developers can create tools that access your 23andMe data. Each app will request that you log in to your 23andMe account and provide access, and each app will specify the data it is requesting and what use it will make of that data. You can review all the applications to which you have granted access, and click the arrow to see the data that the app is accessing. If you wish, you can revoke access.
- Learn more about sharing and protecting your genetic information.
- Learn more about the DNA Relatives tool.
- Learn more about the Share and Compare tool.