This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.

Account Settings: Privacy/Consent

Account management features can be located by clicking on the profile menu in the upper right and selecting Account Settings from the drop-down.

 

You have the ability to review and modify the privacy and consent settings for each profile in your account. Some of these options are ones you selected during the kit registration process.

Screen_Shot_2013-05-13_at_11.47.46_AM.png

Privacy and consent settings include:

 

Sharing Options

Choose whether or not you would like to receive sharing invitations from other 23andMe members.

By checking the box under "Sharing Options" you may disable other users from inviting you to share genomes from a link on your profile page. If you have blocked any user profiles, you can view those users and unblock them by clicking on the "Manage blocked profiles" link in this section.

DNA Relatives Options

If you choose not to participate in DNA Relatives, you will not be able to use the feature  to view or contact relatives. Also, you will not show up in other people's DNA Relatives results.

Third-party Apps

Through the 23andMe API, developers can create tools that can access your 23andMe data with your permission. Each app will request that you log in to your 23andMe account and provide access, and each app will specify the data it is requesting and what use it will make of that data. You can review all the applications to which you have granted access and the data that the app is accessing, and revoke that access if you wish.

Basic Research Consent

As part of kit registration, you selected a consent option for 23andMe research. This section shows your current consent option and also allows you to link to the Consent Document. Click on "Change your consent" to review and modify your consent choice.

If you are located in a region where participation in 23andMe research is not available, then this section will not appear. You may still choose to answer surveys, but your responses will not be included in peer-reviewed published research articles.

Sample Storage

As part of kit registration, you have the option to select whether or not you would like to have your saliva sample stored, or biobanked, at the lab after analysis.

If you declined the option to biobank your sample during registration, or if you registered your kit prior to the time that sample storage was available, you have the ability to enable sample storage for any future samples you provide.

If your current sample is not biobanked, you can click the "Store Future Samples" button. The message will change to say "Storage enabled". You may change your preference at any time.  

Store_Future_Samples_button.png

If your current sample is biobanked, once the lab has completed analysis you will see a message that says, "Your saliva sample is currently stored at 23andMe's lab."  You may instruct the lab to discard your sample by clicking the "Discard Sample" button. You will only see this option once the lab have completed the analysis of your sample. Keep in mind that this action is irreversible.

Discard_Sample_button.png

Follow
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Submit a request

Ask a question through Facebook or Twitter

Or call 1-800-239-5230
Monday through Friday, 9:00am to 12:00pm and 1:00pm to 4:00pm PST/PDT