Establishing a sharing connection on 23andMe allows users to view one another's profile names, information from compatible reports, and the number and location of overlapping DNA segments. A sharing connection does not allow either person to search or download the other person's raw data, access their DNA Relatives list, or if applicable, view and download the other person’s Reports Archive.
When inviting someone to share, you can choose between two levels as described below:
Share Ancestry Only
- If you're related, see the location of matching DNA segments between yourself and the match, as well as any DNA relatives matches that you have in common. Furthermore, this shared segment information may be downloaded by your match through the DNA Relatives list download. Learn more.
- Compare your ancestries from the Ancestry Composition, Haplogroups, and Neanderthal Ancestry reports.
Share Ancestry and Health
- In addition to the capabilities above, his or her data will be available for most health-related and traits topics. Note: Only data from compatible reports will be displayed.
- When you extend a sharing invitation, your profile name will be included in the sharing invitation. Once sharing has been established between two accounts, both full profile names will be visible in each other’s accounts. You can change your sharing level or stop sharing at anytime. Learn more.
- You would directly be sharing information about ancestral origins, family relationships (including a predicted relationship if applicable) and, if you've chosen that option, health-related information. Some people are comfortable sharing this kind of information, some are not—it's a personal choice.
- In the DNA Relatives tool, you can compare the shared DNA segments of two profiles you are sharing with even if those two are not sharing with each other. Similarly, your shares may compare your DNA with that of people they're sharing with. This aspect of sharing allows customers to compare people to each other and opens up new genealogical vistas by allowing customers to find evidence of family relationships.
- If you share with someone and you are related, your information will be included in their DNA Relatives data download. This information includes and is limited to: your profile name, your profile sex, the locations of the DNA segments you share, the results of your Maternal and Paternal haplogroups reports, and certain information that you choose to add to your DNA Relatives profile, if and only if you are participating in the tool.
- There is some chance that someone you are sharing with could learn something about you that you didn't directly share. For example, if you and someone you are sharing with have a matching segment of DNA that overlaps a health-associated gene, you might infer something about their genotype on the basis of your own, or vice versa. While it's important that we mention this possibility, in practice it is not easy to make inferences like this, and it doesn't happen very often.
Generally, we recommend sharing with people you are comfortable with. Sharing allows you to use more of the features on the website and adds a new dimension to what you can learn about yourself and your family. Many customers share openly with each other and have benefited from the experience. As you learn more about genetics and develop a finer sense of the issues involved, you might begin to share more openly yourself.
- You may not see data for an individual with whom you are sharing if that individual's data has not yet been loaded to his or her account. Even though you can't see his or her information, he or she will be able to see yours. Once his or her data becomes available you will be able to view it.
- Information for people already listed in your sharing list may disappear if they decide to discontinue the sharing connection or close their accounts.