Many 23andMe customers participate with their family members, including parents, siblings, spouses, and more. When registering your kits, you can choose to establish separate accounts for each individual or place all family members in one account. There are a few aspects to consider when choosing which type of account to set up.
If you choose to create separate accounts, then each person would have their own email address and password to log in. Even if you choose to share at the extended level, you would not be sharing the following information:
- Search or download the other person's raw data.
- View the other person's DNA Relatives.
- If applicable, see the other person's data in opt-in Health topics.
Based upon how much information you wish to share and how frequently each person will be logging in, you can choose the method which will work best for you.
If you choose to place all family members in a single account:
- You will all share one email address and one password to log in.
- Only one person can be logged into the shared account at any given time.
- Access to all of each person's genetic data would be available to everyone who shares the account.
- Each person will have a unique profile and each profile would have its own unique set of surveys.
To register a kit into an existing account, click here and sign in to enter your account credentials (email address and password).
After entering the kit barcode, you will be prompted to select whether you or someone else will be using the kit in question. In most instances, the individual registering should select "I will be using this kit." You should only select the other option if you will be registering on behalf of someone else, such as a child under 13 who cannot have his or her own account.
Once you have registered profiles into a shared account, you will be able to navigate between profiles by selecting the profile name in the upper right corner and then clicking the desired profile from the list. Note that for accounts with more than 3 profiles, you will first need to select Switch Profiles from the dropdown menu.
When sending sharing invitations to friends or relatives in the Your Connections and DNA Relatives features, the recipient of that sharing invitation will only be able to see the reports for the profile you included in that invitation. However, you will be able to view the established sharing connection from any profile in your account. As an example, if you send a sharing request from your profile, the connection will appear as an option in the Your Connections feature for all profiles in your account — not just the profile that you shared back with that person.
Because of this functionality, accounts with multiple profiles may see sharing connections in the Your Connections feature that do not share segments of DNA with each profile in the account.